clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FIFA announces new pay model for 2023 the Women’s World Cup

All players will each receive financial earnings for making the tournament roster and for each stage they advance to.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Final Draw Photo by Harold Cunningham - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images

On Wednesday, FIFA announced a new financial distribution model for the FIFA Women’s World Cup. For the first time in history, all players from the 32 participating nations will receive guaranteed distributions beginning in the group stages.

FIFA President Gianno Infantino made this announcement and stated that with this new redistribution model, “each individual player at the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 can now fully rely on remuneration for their efforts as they progress through the tournament.”

This new model is only for players at the World Cup, while the participating football associations will receive their own distributions from FIFA to use towards developing the game in their own countries. As teams advance at the tournament, players can potentially be awarded increased prize money, bringing FIFA’s total investment in the World Cup this summer to over $500 million.

Infantino continued on in the press release, stating that the global salary for players in the women’s game is approximately $14,000 annually. “The amounts allocated under this unprecedented new distribution model will have a real and meaningful impact on the lives and careers of these players. Beyond this, all member associations will also receive a record financial distribution based on their performance, which they can use to reinvest back into football in their countries and which we believe will help to propel the women’s game even further.”

The captain of the winning team at the World Cup this summer, will receive $270,000 as will each of her teammates.

The following details the new distributions model amongst players and their member associations:

Player Allocation

  • Group Stages - $30,000
  • Round of 16 - $60,000
  • Quarter Finals - $90,000
  • Fourth place finish - $165,000
  • Third place finish - $180,000
  • Runners up - $195,000
  • Winners - $270,000

Participating member nation

  • Group Stages - $1,560,000
  • Round of 16 - $1,870,000
  • Quarter Finals - $2,180,000
  • Fourth place finish - $2,455,000
  • Third place finish - $2,610,000
  • Runners up - $3,015,000
  • Winners - $4,290,000

The World Cup is being co-hosted by two countries for the first time. The two nations, Australia and New Zealand, will kick off the tournament on July 20 as Australia faces Ireland and New Zealand faces Norway.