clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Australia and New Zealand will host the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup

Gianni Infantino made the announcement today that the joint bid won the vote.

Sydney Opera House Lights Up Ahead of 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Host Announcement Photo by Jason McCawley/Getty Images

After a vote by the FIFA Council today, Gianni Infantino announced that Australia and New Zealand will jointly host the 2023 Women’s World Cup. According to FIFA rules, winning the tournament requires a simple majority vote since there were only two bids.

Voting procedure for the FIFA WWC 2023

Members of the FIFA Council

Here’s how the votes broke down:

In overall voting, the joint Australia/New Zealand bid received 22 votes, while Colombia received 13 votes.

As expected, CONMEBOL voted as a block for the Colombia bid, while the AFC and OFC voted for the joint AUS/NZ bid, with the exception of Colombia and New Zealand’s representatives, who recused themselves as per voting rules since they represented bidding federations.

CAF and Concacaf both also voted for the joint bid, while UEFA went for Colombia.

Voting results

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be played from July 10 - August 20.